Good on ya!

swiped from donotcall.gov.au

We can now say goodbye to those pesky telemarketers. Finally! 😀 Being a stay-at-home mom, I have been a victim of unwanted telemarketing several times already. It’s so frustrating because sometimes I find myself politely entertaining all their questions. At the end of each sales pitch though, I feel guilty because I let them ramble on with their marketing BS when all they’ll ever get is a “No, I’m not interested.” reply from me. Tsk. Tsk. I should learn to say no immediately. 😛

I’m glad the government did something about it. There is actually a Do Not Call Register Act 2006 that protects the consumer from receiving these unsolicited telemarketing calls.

Telemarketing calls will not be permitted after 8 pm on weekdays, with research calls not permitted after 8.30 pm on weekdays. No calls covered by the standard will be permitted before 9 am on any day, after 5 pm on Saturdays or at any time on Sundays or national public holidays.

You can register all your home and mobile numbers here.

5 Responses to “Good on ya!”

  1. buti pa kayo! sana meron din ganyan dito. kainis kasi minsan eh kaya di na lang namin sinasagot phone hanggang pumasok sa answering machine. haha!

  2. hi leah! yup, this is a great site and a big help to get rid of those annoying telemarketers. 🙂

    just registered our phone last week!

  3. that’s very helpful! i hate dealing with telemarketers. i understand it’s their job, but it gets in the way of MY job when they call me in the middle of a workday. i hate it even more when they call on sundays and they rob me of family time. i wish something like that would be instilled here in manila too.

  4. This is very helpful. Like others, I also hate dealing with telemarketers so we decided to register both our home and cellular phones to DoNotCall. So far, so good!

  5. I did that myself when I was in the US. It was a lot of help. Dita nga sa ‘Pinas medyo nau-uso na rin yan.

Leave a Reply

