Still here…

Yes, I’m still here AND still pregnant. 🙂 Just thought I’d post little by little the progress of the impending delivery of our baby.

16 March 2007
At around 4:15 PM, J, my mom and I went to the hospital as instructed by the midwife I talked to on the phone earlier. We brought all the necessary things that we might need just in case the staff at the Delivery Suite decided to make us stay. We went to the DS on the third floor of the Maternity Building and was immediately entertained by one of the midwives there. She asked for my maternity record and for my Medicare card. After which, she led us to an examination room where we waited for a few minutes to be attended by another midwife named Sue.

Sue measured my vital signs first (temperature and BP) and then took a peek at the pad that I brought from home which had my ‘bloody show’ on it. She then asked me to lie down on the bed as she hooked me up to a fetal monitoring, strapping an ultrasound transducer head to my lower abdomen to check on the baby’s heart rate and a pressure gauge monitor to the middle of my belly to time and check the intensity of my contractions. This was done for about an hour.

Sue came back with my maternity record to say that for now there is no cause for worry as the baby is fine and ‘happy.’ And since contractions were far and wide apart and there was no more bleeding, the attending doctor advised us to just go home in the mean time and to just call back if there are any changes. We left the hospital at around 6:15 and had dinner at Westfield Woden. After which, we drove home.

17 March 2007
1:30 AM & 3 AM: I woke up separately to one episode of painful contractions.

5:45 to 9 AM: I started having painful contractions at irregular intervals of 5, 10, 15, 20 and 30 minutes.

9 AM – present: I’m feeling the contractions at 5, 7, and 10 minute intervals now. The contractions are definitely more painful and intense but still tolerable.

So maybe today is THE day. Then again, maybe not. We’ll soon find out. 🙂

6 Responses to “Still here…”

  1. All the best! Sounds like the baby’s raring to go. 🙂

  2. hey neighbor!

    good luck, hopefully this is it! 🙂

  3. Congratations on the new baby!!! Your mom-in-law told me the other day.

  4. oh looks like the baby’s out :)–reading from marj’s comment. congratulations!!!
    btw, i have moved to wordpress as well. http://bookofjean.wordpress.com

    thanks!

  5. woohoo congrats leah and joseph!!!

  6. Hi Miss Leah! Is this EC?!!! Congratulations! I just saw your pics on friendster. Proud momma and poppa, huh? How does it feel for real? Chika unya. Ingat!

Leave a Reply

